Country and Currency Information

(View currency rates)
Time Zone (GMT):+0 to +2
Population:Combined: 332,839,084
Eurozone Information:Euro Member States: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Also: Andorra, Monaco, Montenegro, San Marino & Vatican City
Currency:Euro = 100 cents
Currency Code:EUR
Banknote Denominations:5 / 10 / 20 / 50 / 100 / 200 / 500
Exchangeable Currencies:All major
* Lowest Returnable Note:5
Additional Information:The Europa series is the second series of Euro banknotes. The 500 Euro remains legal tender but is no longer being issued. 500 Euro notes cannot be purchased from British Bureau de Changes

* When selling currency back to most bureaux. Coins are generally NOT returnable.

GOV.UK Travel Advice

Thursday 16 May 2024 4:49pm
This travel advice was reviewed for style and accuracy.

Wednesday 15 May 2024 3:42pm
Information that tickets for EURO 2024 will be digital ('Euro 2024' page).

Wednesday 15 May 2024 1:32pm
Removal of information on the semi-final between Olympiacos and Aston Villa (‘Safety and security’ page).

Wednesday 15 May 2024 4:36pm
This travel advice was reviewed for style and accuracy.

Friday 17 May 2024 10:35am
Information that if your passport is lost or stolen, you cannot use a police report to leave Spain (‘Safety and security’ page).

(This information was still current on the GOV.UK website 17 minutes ago)